When Angels Die

Posted: May 20, 2016 in Poetry

I see a man trying his best in a world that doesn’t give a sh*t. It breaks my heart….There is a point when honor becomes a flaw of character” (Pierce Brown–Morning Star)


I sought truths in a house of lies
Searched depth from shallow pools
Until my laughter became empty cries
When i realised there is no rest for ignorant fools

But the ancients spoke of love and honour
Oh, how much I sacrificed on those fallen alters!
I praised ideals from a dead civilisation,
Burned brightly like a pearly anachronism
Until in one night all the lustre was cruelly stolen
Rusted and broken, just a trinket soon forgotten
Tell me, who cries when an angel dies ?


David2016

Never again will my heart arrive in innocence. Never again will I make the foolish loves of youth into a man’s ideal, and so suffer a longing for something that never was. Ashes await us all. This lover of the world has set aside his love, for now and for ever more…. (Steven Erikson–Fall Of Light)

Leave a Reply

